Help needed with exhaust issue (2003 honda civic si)

Well the other day I got in my car and started driving it and noticed it was slightly louder than normal. kept driving it this week and it progressively got louder. Yesterday I got under the car an noticed the exhaust had rusted apart between the muffler and resonator. The rest of the exhaust is fine.out of all 13 cars ive ever owned Ive never had 1 issue with an exhaust so im a complete noob to what to do about this.

To make a long story short. I took it to cole muffler and they said I needed a whole new mid pipe and that they could even get it because it was a dealer part.I cant even imagine how expensive it would be to get that from the dealer. Am I better off just trying to find something after market?

I was under the impression that a muffler place could cut off the rusted part and put a new piece in and weld it back together. Is this possible? I dont even know where to go for this kind of shit any help would be much appreciated.

heres a quick picture of it.

http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa319/analbucket/2.jpg

cut both ends, slip larger pipe on both ends clamp :slight_smile:

Dont know why I didnt think of that. That could work any idea of where to get that kind of pipe?

pep boys sells exhaust pipes

solid Think theyd have clamps too?

lol, yes.

thanks guys lol. Its strange how out of 13 cars ive owned this is the first bad exhaust.

don’t expect that solution to last more than a year at best…

It may, I used a cut coffee can and worm style clamps on my plow trucks exhaust and that lasted over 2 years.

It might not be a perfect fix but a pepboys clamp in pipe will help. Go to like a muffler man and have them bend and weld in a new section.

A local shop to me custom bent some mid pipes on my M3 for $100. (2-2.5" mids) FYI

if its a stock exhaust…perfect excuse for a new SS Catback