home brew crew?

i remember seeing a few people mention they home brew. im just getting started and im pretty excited about it. im going to buy the kit in a few hours, and have been collecting bottles for a while now lol. its tough work.

i have a few questions- what sanitizer do you use? i know star-san comes with the kit, and a lot of people use it, but ive also seen a lot of people use idophor. what do you use?

another thing, what should my first brew be? im def going to be brewing from extract, i think im just going to get a kit for some scotch ale or american ale from the homebrew store

discuss! and give me some heads up on things i should look out for. ive done a lot of reading, but let me hear some thoughts and advice from your personal experience

word!

i use the sanitizer that comes in the orange and white tub, not sure of the name, but make sure its ultra clean or ull get mold :slight_smile:

ya, i do not want the dreaded “off flavor” or even worse, moldy beer. ewwwww

Bottle Brite

Bleach and water mixture… works fine for me

I did an IPA as my first batch, that was a little much for a first brew. I just bottled about 58 Amber lights two days ago that was really easy to make and will probably taste better to the common beer drinker. The IPA from True Brew is pretty complex with the aromatic(sp?) hops and wood chips that stay during the length of fermentation.

As mentioned, the True Brew brand has GREAT kits, comes with the carboy, capper, thermometer, hydrometer (helps calculate expected alcohol content) etc. They also sell pre packaged ingredient kits for the type of beer you’d make, which is great before you start to blindly buy ingredients.