How To Plan An Event

It’s nice to see people take the initiative in planning events. I’m not an expert by any means but from past failures I have learned the following things that help. I hope they are of use.

(6) Be specific

Even if it’s a feeler, be sure to say WHAT you are doing, WHERE you are doing it, and WHY you are going to go. Sure, it sounds redundant but ONLY IF you are asking the same old people. If you want to encourage others to join the fun, they’ll need to know this information too!

Take some time to write about your event. Use pictures and include a link to the place for those interested to take it beyond your description.

Don’t assume everyone will click the link so be sure to provide plenty of information up front.

(5) Give advance notice

Advance notice is highly appreciated, as people have jobs, significant others, army of temporary part time lovers, baby moms/dads, etc that need to be planned around.

Plus if the event costs some money it gives people time to save up.

(4) Be proactive and do things yourself

Find out as much as you can ahead of time about availability, cost, time required.

Nothing disappoints like planning an event only to find out “the track isn’t open” a week prior. Make a couple of phone calls, use up the ol’ friends and family minutes left over from last month.

Don’t rely on the grapevine- assume nothing because you are in charge and attendees have entrusted you with plans for their time and you need to deliver. That’s the bottom line.

Also, if you stopped reading here and said to yourself “what the #$# man this is a lot of work!”, well yes event planning is always work.

Last time I checked, four word posts and a couple of text messages to the homies did NOT result in a successful group outing.

(3) Consider the needs of others

Just because you are cool with skipping breakfast and lunch or driving at 90 mph down public highways doesn’t mean the rest of the group is.