Lauren Scruggs walks into spinning aircraft prop

As a pilot, I couldn’t imagine seeing this happen to someone let alone be the poor soul who made the mistake to begin with. Dad told me about this and I was trying to find a better video. Apparently hit her in the face and shoulder, and took off a good portion of one hand which was later amputated.

Faaaaawking crazy lucky she’s not dead.

that’s fucking horrible

dammmmn… how do you hit a prop? lol, good thing she is getting better thou.

yeah well she lost her hand, so its not that good

atleast she aint dead

exited the plane, engine still running. Apparently it was a “tourist” type flight to view christmas lights from altitude and they were changing passengers. ne article said she was walking around front to shake the pilots hand and well, boom.

I can telly you that even with the maker tips, a spinning prop is hard to see even at idle and if you’re not accustomed to aircraft and have a brain fart you can get in the wrong place real quick. When I was flying quite often I was always nervous with people outside the cockpit and would always shut down if someone was approaching on the tarmac during preflight check and warmup.

:shudders:

It’s typically the First Officers duty to stand by the prop on the entrance/exit side of the aircraft to prevent this from happening.

It’s like walking into something banging you’re head against it. 90% of the time you wouldn’t of done it, but it happens to everyone. Some more than others :lol.

Sadly this wasn’t a low hanging cabinet or something like that, it was a fucking airplane propeller.

I’m around spinning props/rotors on a daily basis and I treat them as lethal objects, because, well, they are. Once I’m within an (un)reasonable distance from them, nothing gets more of my attention than that spinning object.

That is crazy, but shes quite lucky she lived.

Talk about having your life flipped upside down as a model though.

I’d still hit it.

+rep Singh