National Fuel Rebates

My HWT is about to die. I’ll be replacing it myself because I’m a man, but national fuel offers a $150 rebate for an efficient tank water heater and $350 for a tankless. The catch is you have to have it installed by a contractor?

I think it’s the same for tax rebates.

Anybody ever find a workaround for this? I’m perfectly fine with it being illegal. :tup:

Draw up an invoice from Jim’s Handyman Services for (1) HWT install.

Gotta provide some identifying digits. It’s tied into the nyserda program. They probably check.

You could find a person who owns a contractor’s business and ask them nicely for $50 to type up a written reciept/estimate. Someone like my father, perhaps. :snky:

Hmmmmm…

When you do replace it, I heard if you make the HWT have a small gas leak, it heats the water quicker…

So I noticed a thread a month ago asking about tankless hot water heaters, and since I’m new in the Hvac field I didn’t provide any input but after working on one and talking to a co worker they are a pain in the butt when you need to service them, very complex compared to the old hot water tank system. Take longer to fix due to this and might cost more to fix, more things that could fail, my co-worker advises against them.

First, you don’t heat hot water.

Second, tankless water heaters are fantastic when properly setup in the correct application. You get what you pay for as far as quality and reliability, just like everything else.

Thanks for the correction

If you have ever worked on one you know they aren’t as easy to work on compared to the older style. If you have to pay for someone to work on it it can quickly add up and take the savings away, although that is what I heard from a co worker, I forget the brand that we worked on, we had to replace the manifold and its a cluster fuck of wires in a very small cabinet. Had to take everything apart to get to manifold and it seemed like in order to service anything on it, it would be a nightmare.