Passing PA Inspection w/ JDM Engine

Anyone with a JDM swap, how did you pass PA Inspection/Emissions? I can pass the sniffer (although it’s done by computer now) with a univeral cat in the exhaust, but what about things such as the EGR Valve (Exhaust Gas Recirculation)? Also, did you run into anyone giving you a hard time as for it not being the “OEM” motor?

it totaly depends onthe car. if it’s an OBD2 car… you have to have the OBD2 ECU and all the emissions stuff. if it’s 95 or older… and it wil pass the sniffer… you can probably get away with some things missing.

Damn. It’s a OBD2 Car. :frowning: There’s always the $20 bill method. :wink:

only way your pasing if your exempt

get another cluster… make your car exempt

Originally posted by whitey
get another cluster… make your car exempt

Details?

I put a JDM OBDI engine into my OBDI chassis and passed no problem. I have no experience with OBDII cars, so I don’t know what all that will entail.

obdii will kill you… i’m never ever ever going to pass…

most places dont even know what cars came with egr valves and such…just dont take it to places like pep boys and stuff like that and u should be fine

see what your mileage was on your last inspection… find a cluster withing 5k of that and then boom. you are emissions exempt

exactly what obd2 chassis do you have? and exactly what jdm motor are you trying to put into it. there is more than likely a way to make it all completely legal, it all just depends on what i just asked above. but of course, there always is the less than 5k exemption.

straight from tha mv-131-(8-10):

The visual inspection shall be performed through direct observation or through indirect observation, using a mirror or other visual aid.

Provided that the make and model year of the vehicle would have originally been equipped with the device, you will hfail a vehicle for inspection if one or more of the following apply: