reconstructed titles from PA in new york

So I was doing some searching and found this guy who is selling a few 2006 rsx type-s out of PA. Noticed the prices were dirt cheap and made the call. I wasnt surprised when he told me that they are all reconstructed titles. There was one that got my attention though. It was an 06, gray, 29k miles, theft recovery for around $11k which is dirt for that car. No other accidents according to him.

Im not an expert on the subject but he told me NY is the only state that makes registering a reconstructed title a pain in the ass and sometimes its not even worth the hassle.

What kinda of procedure does NYS take when putting these vehicles on the road?

pa reconstructed title in ny are a nightmare, basically its gotta go thru the entire salvage inspection here, for what i was told. like it dosent even matter that it went thru all that stuff in pa, thier system is unrecognized by ours. Atleast thats what I got when I called about a rust free 81 monte carlo i had picked up for 500$ as a roller.

I ended up selling the car as spares to a oval guy because of it.

you have to prove all of the parts replaced on the vehicle were done so legally, ie; with receipts. If they decide to tear the vehicle apart and find a non-matching vin you are probably fucked for owning stolen parts. If its a stolen/recovery with no parts needed then you might be ok. But typically lock cylinders/windows are damaged.

Probably not worth it for your first salvage car at that price.

Wow. Thats ridiculous. I think I’ll pass