Right Hand Drive insurance question

So I’ve come up on the opportunity to buy a gts skyline. I am not looking to find out which companies insure these cars so before you say anything about that…

My questions are somewhat dumb but I’m not sure whether they have been answered before but I couldn’t find them anywhere online.

So first off, I’m 18 years old. I’ve heard that RHD cars fall under collectors cars in which case I have to be 25 years old or have 5 years experience. I have neither, is that true?

Secondly, as an average what could I expect to pay a month on insurance? Ballpark? Anybody here have a cheap quote? I pay $265 on my 240sx right now, so anybody have anything for like $310? I’m not expecting to find anything under $400 a month to be honest but worth a try.

And another question which is sort of random, but I looked into buying a converted skyline but shyed away because it was a complete mess with everything being done by an amateur mechanic. The Vin# would still be classified as a RHD, but would you be able to get it appraised as a LHD and have your insurance company insure it that way? In case that ever comes up again.

Thanks guys, in case these were absolute noob questions then just ignore them. I’ve called companies but they hang up as soon as they hear right hand drive.

this has been beaton to death a million times on this forum search for it man

It’s true, and I think its 10years continuous driving experience, not 5.

You can try to have it revinned by Insurance Bureau of canada, should run you $450… Then you can insure it by your current company, no questions asked.

I did search, came up with nothing that was specific to my question. Just a bunch of “where can I get RHD insurance” topics.

And thank you GetARide. That is interesting but these conversion cars seem to be slaughtered beyond repair but nice to know for the future.

I have a 95 gtst rhd, insured by statefarm