Rust repair costs?

I’m tring to find out if fixing the rust on my car is worth it or not. Anyone who has had any body work done if they could just say how much it was for what they had fixed it would be greatly appreciated .

Whats wrong with my car is there is a hole rusted through on both frame rails at the front. Also my rocker panels are eaten through and some small rust holes in the inner fenders. These areas would all need to be cut out and then replaced with new metal.

I tired calling a body shop but they said they couldn’t tell me anything until they saw the car, but my car isn’t going far without a transmission in it and i don’t want to tow it there just for an estimate.

just for a very rough quote could anyone tell me will this be more or less than a 1000 bucks?

if you do it yourself then less then 1000 by far

if you have it done, more then 1000 for sure

i’m a welder, pm sent

I’m in the same predicament.

learn to weld. and get in good with a metal shop. :slight_smile:

I taught myself to weld over 6 months and have finished all my frame repairs, and they look clean, not factory, but good and strong. Much more fun than paying for it.

Does the rust look a lot like my thread? If so, consider doing it yourself.

I patched both front frame rails in about 3hours. The rocker panels, I’m looking at about 8hours of work.

15 (roughly) hours x $40/hour body man = $600.

However, since they’re doing a professional job, expect well over $1000.

Currently, I’m up to about $98 worth of parts and such to fix my car up the point it’s in.

Consider doing it yourself.

yeah it does look a lot like the pics in your thread. expect my rocker panels are worse as well.

I’ve never welded so i don’t think i could do it on my own. but i’ll probably get some help from someone on the forum.

gotta save the car from becoming another parts bitch

Get yourself a MIG welder,it’s easy to learn and will do a good job.
And you will find many uses for it later.