S14KA24DE won't start possibly starter?

Hey guys.
So today I went to the shop and just changed tires and brake fluid.
When the tech was going for a test drive and he started it sounded bad not sure how to describe it, sort of like a grinding on ignition. Drove home, driving felt fine.

Parked it at home, like 7 hours later I go to park the car for the night, same noise :S so I drove around the block, felt normal parked it in the garage turned the car off. Then I tried starting it again same noise, except this time engine didn’t turn over.

Sounds like the starter to me, but I’m no mechanic…
I can’t move the car either cause it won’t start so if someone could come check it out or something before I have to play the “tow back and forth” game…

this could be an excuse for an engine swap LOL…trying to be optimistic…
Will record sound on request but … I’d rather not try to push the car into more hell yet.

If the battery is low the starter can make some pretty bad noises, try either boosting the car or charging your battery before starting.

If it is the starter, its an easy part to change vs doing a motor swap.

thanks!
I think my battery is ok, everything is getting power.

If its stick u can bump start it vs damn tow truck. Not sure if the starter is done bump start will still work though. No mechanic myself.

I read you can just knock on the starter the same way you would an old TV, I’ll try that tommrow but the grinding noise doesn’t sound too good. I’m just afraid I won’t be able to get it back in the garage if I try to bump start it…my driveway is somewhat steep. being lowered doesn’t help.

starts 1/4 of the time…

Honestly the easiest thing to do is pull the starter and get it tested/swap in one you know works

no space at home to jack up the car. I normally would do my stuff in my friend’s garage.
Tried jumping it, no luck. multi-meter to the battery read 12V