Seversal Q's for S13 Sr20DET

First off, this is my first time driving a RWD in winter and I have to say, it’s not as bad as I thought it was. Since this past week, I’ve been driving it daily and with the decreasing gas prices, I should get more mileage out of my car. Here’s the first problem, I noticed that my fuel consumption has gone up since the blistering snow storm began. I was wondering if the drastic decrease in temperature affects the fuel consumption. Before I was able to hit roughly 100km after the first bar (indicated by 3 white lines in the fuel gauge).

Secondly, I still keep getting popping noises from my exhaust and I believe it’s due to my catalytic convertor. I have the blitz Nur Spec cat back exhaust system and the piping it 3 inches. I think the leak is before the smaller flange hole between the cat and the exhaust. My question is, for those who have 3 inch exhaust, what is your solution to this? buy a 3 inch cat?

Finally, since the s13 is an old car, it certainly has its share of problems. This problem of mine stems from a vibration coming from my gearbox. Everytime I rev it to about 2300~2500 rpms, there’s this buzzing noise coming from below the shifter. It’s REALLY annoying but I can’t seem to precisely pinpoint it. If any had this problem and found a solution for it, please post it
Much appreciated.

The rattling is probably something loose in your exhaust system, quite possibly downpipe bolts or a heat shield. Regarding your cat, yeah, a matching 3" cat would probably be ideal.

Your fuel mileage will go down a little because the car needs to warm up a lot more in this weather (uses more fuel as it does so). As well, if you’re letting it run a few minutes before (and/or after due to turbo) driving that will use fuel without getting any mileage.

Fuel milage goes down when your traction goes down, IE snow.

It also leaves the car in open loop mode longer (aka running rich) since it takes longer for coolant to get up to temp.