So I took a new job...

A good friend of mine started with a company about a year and a half ago, the company is doing very well and growing quickly and needs good people. He gave me a call and asked me to come down and meet w/ the co-founders and CEO. I liked what I heard so I decided to “officially” interview. Just last Friday I got my offer, and made my decision to accept today.

For the first time in my life it was actually a very tough decision to take a job. In the past it’s always been a “no brainer” in terms of compensation, title, etc. when I’ve taken new jobs. That was not the case this time. I’m currently a Global Account Manager for a large IT seller. It’s a good gig, and means I own the client relationship but I manage about 20 people that are the standard account managers and deal with the day-to-day order BS so I don’t have to. The pay is pretty good, and it’s great a great résumé builder. Recently my boss got promoted, and we just found out the Business Development Manager for this area got his job. So my “new” boss called me instantly and offered me his old gig (BDM for the greater Bay Area).

So there I was, with a job offer on the table and a promotion on the table. Terrible, I know.

Short-term I stand to make more annually for the next 2-3 years staying with my company and being a BDM. But my compensation is heavily bonus-based (and bonus is all off of meeting/exceeding sales goals for the teams I’d manage) and we’re in a heavily slumping economy. Yet, there’s some great résumé stuff involved with the “new” role within my current company.