Sooo, microturbines

I am not an engineer, so there are lots of blanks in my understanding of how those things work, but it got me wondering.
If a small turbine is more efficient than an ICE, and you can use it as a generator, why aren’t there any serial hybrids (bike or car) using it? They are small, clean, light, run on variety of fuels. You could make a far more efficient and better performing hybrid since you wouldn’t need a huge lump of batteries or a big heavy engine as a generator. Volt was heading in that direction (running serial instead of parallel) but it still uses regular motor for generating electricity. Are turbines just outrageously expensive or something? What’s the deal? :ponder

I would say two things…cost and noise.

Chrysler built a handful of a particular turbine powered car back in 63, called none the less the Turbine. They had issues controlling turbine compressor temperatures, but the big killer was the fact that the turbine had no low end torque and poor acceleration due to lack of gearbox/coupling technology.

The turbines have to be run at a specific RPM all the time to maintain efficiency for the most part. You can’t throttle them like a normal engine, and they don’t have the torque like an electric motor at low RPM. coupling a turbine to a modern CVT, or as you were aiming towards, a hybrid turbine/electric would be ideal, where the turbine would run in it’s optimal rpm all the time regardless of wheelspeed.

Noise would also be a problem to overcome as choking up a turbines discharge ramps up turbine temps exponentially.

However the cost to make a turbine engine that wouldn’t require rediculous teardown/rebuild schedules in a daily driven car would be hectic as well.

Would certainly be neat. I mean look at the y2K bike. A turboshaft powered car could have potential with the right tech behind it.

Funnily enough the Y2K is what got me thinking.