Spark Plugs

Ok, there are a few of these style of articles so I will try to post one a day. Credit goes to the author Ken Lagarec and to NEO. I’m just posting this here for people to take a look at. :smiley:

Well, according to the vote, you guys wouldn’t mind having a thing Isa calls Ken’s corner. You ask and I try to answer. Obviously, I need a disclaimer here. I am not an expert and I don’t know everything. However, I have read alot and worked on a few cars so I have a basic idea of what I’m talking about. I also studied physics all my life so I could usually read up on anything related to thermodynamics, engine mechanics etc. and understand it, then relay the information in layman terms. These posts are open for discussion, so if you disagree or think you can explain something differently/better, go ahead. We might not be able to anwser everything here or have all of us understand all the intricacies of cars but I’m pretty sure this is a good way for a lot of you (and me) to learn things you’ve always wanted to know.

Our first topic comes from a man found clueless in the spark plug aisle at Canadian Tire. He was found, after many sleepless nights, scaring customers away by frantically engaging them. “What kind of plugs do you use?”. When the store closed, he was found weeping in the corner screaming out the to 15 year old aisle manager. “Why do you torture me like this?”. Here’s to you Alex (who has officially been banned from CT stores and is being sued by the boy’s parents for causing a traumatic experience).

The question was: what’s the difference between platinum and iridium spark plugs and are they worth the extra cash?