steering jerk ??

When I turn my wheel in the probe it wont do anything then it will just jerk off to the side, and when I hit boost it pulls hard left, then goes right when I let off…the guy I got the car from said its the steering rack missing a tooth. what do you guys think? I dont want to yank it unless I absolutly have to. I got a parts car, just have to pick it up, so the parts aren’t a problem. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Well I’m no pro, but here’s my idea…

Pulling left under boost… I would think has to do with one tires having better traction, OR better contact in the tranny…

Going right when you left off… coasting, or while braking?

If the steering rack was missing a tooth, I would THINK it would steer, but where it’s missing a tooth, wouldn’t steer, then when it passes that gap, steers again…

My car does something similar, but it only pulls to the left occasionally under WOT.

When braking, it pulls to the right.

Good luck with finding the solution… I hope it works out for ya.

yeah its doin it alittle when i put on the brake, cuz it only has one lmao. i yanked the master cylinder/brake lines cuz im replacin em once i get the parts car here. that steering thing is the only thing that bothers me. i know id get some torque steer but nothing this bad. i dunno maby a bad ball joint or somthin?? :gotme:

Bad ball joints as far as I knew, made the squeaky bed noise…

When I’m driving, I’d say 35+ When I turn the wheel quick to one side, it feels as if there’s mad bodyroll.

Like… it feels like the wheels go, THEN the body goes a second later.

A friend suggested I check my sway bar… which a quick visual inspection looked fine.

Don’t kill your car, but I’d try that, turn quick (don’t jerk the wheel like you’re trying not to hit a dog) Just turn quick, to change lanes, and see what you feel the car do.