Tools of the trade...

I am tired of being a lurker, reading stories of car builds and not being able to do it myself. Soo I’ve decided I want to be like you guys, so I’m asking for some help;

Was wondering what good tools I would need to start taking cars apart and putting them back together? I’m very new to handy work so I have no idea what this ‘3/4 1/8 nails’ or anything means…

Specifically, I have a '96 saab 900s (n/a) that I want to take apart and prepare myself for the handy-work of a drift/daily driven 240sx :slight_smile:

:wink:

There are two systems of measurement, Imperial (Stupid) and Metric (Smart). Most imports are metric (mm) but I’ve been surprised before.

Go to Canadian Tire and buy one of the big socket sets, it’ll come with everything you need to cover the basics, it’s cheap and lifetime warranty.

There is no one magic list for tools, just start working and figure it out.

Funny thing about that… All through public and high school we are mainly taught the metric system. 8 years in the welding industry and I can count on one hand how many times I encountered metric stuff… EVERYTHING is imperial. The only metric shit I’ve worked on is my 240 and my Ford.

thanks for the quick replies, even at 2am heh. I’ve bought a random canadian tire socket set recently, actually… just not sure what to do with them or anything :\

Hmmmm you mentioned wanting to take apart the saab, get started!

Lol

Next step would be reading through the various DIY and FSM threads and trying them out just to get some experience built up

also get a set of pliers and screwdrivers, and some combination wrenches (if the socket set didnt come with any). thats pretty much the minimum you can get away with. if you need any specialty tools i believe parts source rents them out

yeah a good set of sockets and screwdrivers and that’s a solid start.