Tree removal question...

I’m looking to have all the trees in my backyard taken out. There are about 9 in total. They range from 3/4" in diameter- 1 ft. in diameter. They are 10’-maybe 40’ tall. They are in between 2 garages with maybe 4 ft. to work with and a fence directly in the middle.

Now I can drop 5 of 9 trees with ease, but the other 4 are the biggest ones and cover the most area over the 3 surrounding garages of my neighbors.

Now I’m no tree expert, but I have taken down a few trees before and I have been trimming what I can off with my 14’ extendable pruner/tree saw.

I had someone come by yesterday and quote me $900 just to drop the trees, no cutting on the ground and no removal. This seemed really high to me…and that was his “cash” price…

I have another guy coming this week to quote me, but I do have a fairly new chainsaw, 100’ of ropes and most tools necessary to do this myself.

I’ll post pictures on my lunch break today, but I’m working…am I wrong in thinking that $900 is ridiculously high for removing these trees? Also, would any of you consider doing this yourself or would you hire someone?

I would definitely hire someone, I’m looking into having a stump ground out and two evergreen bush stumps ripped out this spring/summer.

Where approx. are you located. I can give you some Angie’s List referrals if you’d like.

I’m in WS right off the 400. I guess my problem is that I can’t justify hiring someone to do it when I have all the tools necessary to do it. If I call the town, they will bring the payloader out to remove whatever wood I don’t need/sell for firewood I really only need them to get the trees on the ground and I can do the rest.

I also realize that there is an initial cost involved in coming out and doing the work, but for 5 trees, I would think it would only take a few hours to get done…

post some pictures, I use to do a lot of tree work