WTF? dyno charts inside...

I spent some quality time on a dyno last night trying to dial in my piggyback and adjustable wastegate.
I made good numbers, but the curves look like crap, and torque falls flat on its face. I held 12psi in this run. Can anyone interpret this and figure out what caused this, and possibly how to fix it?:confused:

baseline before clamp and adjustable WGA (downpipe installed):

Downpipe, clamp, and PTP WGA:

To top it all off, I found out what limp mode is like this morning… time to buy a code reader.

Looks like a boost spike at build up, and then it falls off. Your controller is obviously not set up right… try playing with the frequency. You can see it and the TQ jumping around through the pull, and up top it just looks like the ignition is breaking up.

Thanks for the input! Frequency? sorry man I’m really new to turbos, please bear with me. By you saying frequency though, are you suggesting an electrical type over a mechanical? I don’t have a boost controller yet, but its fairly high on the list now. Would a cheap mechanical suffice? I’m not looking to dump too much money/power into the car.:cry:

If the ignition is breaking up, would you look at plug type or gap? I have ngk iridiums (no colder, stock replacement) gapped at .035" now.

I assumed your adjustable wastegate was electronic.

Throw the iridium out and get copper in there.

My bad. the wastegate’s only adjustment is the arm length. Also the pressure line going to the wga goes through a solenoid along the way - maybe that’s messing with it. I’m thinking of deleting that solenoid and tossing in a real controller.

Duly noted on the plugs. :slight_smile:

Srt4’s have an electronic wastegate solenoid. You may be onto something

yeah, and it worked well in my first dyno… then i replaced the wga and clamped the MAP and TIP sensors, and viola! a set of very hairy curves.:lolno: Anybody selling a boost controler cheap?