Air Conditionor repair...

Long story short… My window AC now has a hole in one of the coils on the radiator. I’m not good with the terminology here. The copper lines that run in/out of the radiator. It’s perhaps 3/16 big on the outside of a U.

Any quick fixes? Window unit is only ~3 years old… 6400 BTU GE unit. Does its job wonderfully. Cooling the room with computers :wink:

Any goop I can put on it? The unit is under pressure obviously so I doubt some JB weld will hold it up. Can I just fill the hole in with TIG? I can LPT it afterwards to make sure there’s no leaks. The **** that was inside of it would make for a PITA weld though.

Or perhaps just bend a new tube? Oh boy.

Solder?

throw it away and buy a new one.

Thought about it. But then I thought about the other things I could do with $120.

I think I might just go ahead and solder it… Then I have to refill it as well. :expressionless:

then you’ll find out $120 is cheaper

I might be able to fix it, it’s hard to fix coils but I can probably try to braze it to seal it.

Well summer only has like 2-3 more months to go… Maybe I won’t need one. :expressionless:

May not be able to recharge it, so it might be for nothing anyway. :confused:

If you know how to weld maybe you can brave it yourself, you can snip/cut away the aluminum fins to have access to the hole that needs fixig.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-6-000-BTU-115-Volt-Window-Air-Conditioner-with-Remote-AEL06LQ/203188066#specifications

It’s on the side of the radiator, the part where the coil loops back in the the radiator on the U bend.

Well it’s do able but the problem is there probably isn’t any service ports to evacuate and charge the unit, so in order to fix the hole you’d have to recover the refrigerant and then repair, leak check, vacuum, and charge the system.

I can do all this but I’d need to check my van for service ports i could braze in.