Any teachers on the board?

Just wondering if there is anyone that can give me any advice about becoming a teacher possibly? Im considering majoring in secondary education/history concentration

just looking for some real life experiences any advice/opinions would be appreciated

thnx

im an electrical instructor…does that help

currenty teaching ELE-241 Raceways and ELE-250 commercial distribution for the 3rd and 4th term students

just looking for experiences being a teacher so yea you could give your opinion on being a teacher

i am certified and got all clearences. i am secondary / math. but i drive a tow truck for a living.

PM me or hit me up on AIM flyinglow57 if you need specific questions

I taught elementary aged inner city kids in Richmond, VA. I loved it, and hated it. For one, not enough $$$ for all the work that you do. And I was probably the primary care person for a LOT of the kids b/c their parents were either crack heads or worked three shifts a day. It was very hard w/ a small budget as well. With the kids not being able to afford the proper supplies, a lot of the supplies came out of my pocket. Most of the kids came to grade-K with ZERO knowledge of numbers or alphabet. They came to school dirty and hungry. Some of them, breakfast and lunch were the only meals they got for the day. I would go home crying some days b/c the kids wanted to come home w/ me instead of going to their own home.

I did a stint as a 4th grade teacher one year, I had the mother of one of my students barge through the door, accusing me of being the reason her child at 12 years old was having SEX. :ugh: I had the mother removed from the building. The reason her child was having sex was that she was left alone w/ her 15 year old cousin from the time she got out of school until well after midnight. She was unsupervised most of the time.