Apprenticeship - looking for employer

Hi Sonners

Im applying for a apprenticeship program at Centennial College for Automotive Technician

Im looking for an employer that is willing to teach me the art of the automotive industry.

Im a very quick learner, and I already have a fair amount of knowledge/skill towards this profession.

Preferably a shop thats in Scarborough/Markham/Richmondhill area or Oakville/Burlington.

Thank you,
Gavin Yung

(647) 400 - 6806
gavin.yung@gmail.com

if you get into autobody i can help you in a heartbeat.

care to elaborate?

i’m a national manager for CARSTAR automotive Canada and i can probably place any qualified person in any province of Canada at virtually anytime.

case in point, Dan (happy240sx / U2N) is now a regional manager for CARSTAR as of a few months ago. See this thread: http://www.son240sx.org/forums/showthread.php?t=46073&highlight=carstar

I also filled the same position in alberta and have put at least 6 SON guys into various CARSTAR’s across Ontario.

Moreover, i can provide insight into which locations are better to work in and i can direct the resume to the franchisee and the regional manager directly… that regional manager may very well be Dan in fact.

I would be more than happy to place aspiring autobody techs and painters anywhere, any time. The mechanical side is tougher… plus… i think you can make more in autobody… there are guys in Ontario that pull 6 figures as techs and in alberta its even more.

I had a potential lead to perhaps get an apprenticeship in autobody but didn’t see it as that lucrative. Damn, I may have to change my mind lol.

it’s not always… only if you’re a workhorse and very talented.

Any good senior tech working full time in a good shop should earn $60k+

For reference, good painters make well over 6 figures…if I was a young buck…I’d be going that route.

It all depends on the owner of that specific shop and how much he’s willing to pay you.