automatic transmission with paddle shifters..

vs a regular manual transmission.

so i am looking at buying a car that has an option of a automatic transmission with those paddle shifters and i was wondering how they compare to a standard manual transmission, like is it worth it to get it or not are they the same thing besides the automatic part?? i am new to the paddle shifters so i dont know much about them

what car?

unless the car is an M3 or a ferrari… the transfer of power feels just like it would if you started in 1 on an auto and shifted to 2… transfer of power is what makes a manual tranny feel sweet.

Im curious if the new corvettes feel like a grand prix with the tiptronic option

x2

Some cars use an actual automatic (fluid driven) trans, others use a manual (friction plate driven) box.

I’ve driven a few cars with the shifters, it varies. None are quite as much fun for me as a stir-my-own gearbox, but I don’t think I was going quite fast enough to appreciate them either… :stuck_out_tongue:

No clutch pedal no care.

My $.02

automatic tip tronic systems suck…

SMG/DSG/F1/E-gear trans for the win

fuck that shit.

buy a manual, SMG/DSG is about as fun as an above ground pool

manual for the fun factor

:word: I have no experience with paddle shifters, so feel free to stop reading what I have to say now. Actually, nevermind. I have no first hand experience with them so I’m just going to stop typing now. :slight_smile:

MR2 Spyder

Edit: Thought he wanted to know what his options are. I lack teh reading skillz.

the car i am looking at is a 07 miata

have you pushed one around the track? i find it more fun

it gives “push” a whole new meaning.

got gravel?