Bike Accidents

Figured i should start a thread just to see the responses…personal experiences of other riders. Since i started riding…maybe a month or so ago…I’ve had two “Driver didn’t see or LOOK for a motorcyclist” close calls…scary is all I can say…one was at an intersection to a shopping plaza and rt30/ardmore blvd where a driver was stopped in the lane traveling next to me and the opposing lane on the other side…driver opposing me decides to try and pull into the shopping plaza…i had literally less than a second to react. Second was on 376 when you get to the tunnels coming from downtown where its shut down to one lane and a driver decides to hurry and jump over as he is nearing the cones…I had maybe a second or two to react. I’ve been reading articles on bike accidents online today and some of this shit just doesn’t make sense…a rider going so fast when he hit a van it killed him and the 4 inside on top of FLIPPING the van…100mph on a bike with rider(650lbs roughly) is somewhere around what…114ft/tons of kinetic energy?:eek4:

Assuming 650 lb for bike & rider, and 5000 lb for a van/passengers, a bike traveling at 100 mph has the same kinetic energy as the van going ~36 mph. The velocity term is squared so it has a big effect.

there are two types of riders ones who have and ones who will

I only had one incident (not counting the low flying turkeys) where a guy started pulling out right in front of me.

So I was the type of rider who hadn’t yet, but the bike was sold before I became the type that did. I do miss it at times though.

not yet. but i did come to a stop to talk to a buddy and set my bike down in slowmotion. i was hurt very bad. err… my emotions were hurt very bad

Dropped the first GS500 back in '01 or '02.