Buying a car from an out of state dealer, what is needed?

I am currently in the market for a new/used car. I have looked all over and have interest in purchasing a car that will be out of state but located at a dealer. Has anyone done this and if so, what does it take to be able to say Fly to another state and drive it back or buy the car and have it shipped here to be registered? Can you register a car located out of state through an out of state dealer through NYS?

Any help is greatly appreciate as I’ve never done this before.
Thank you.

@JayS probably has plenty to share. I know I went to a Pittsburgh dealer a few years ago for my dad. We drove back on transfer plates and my dad then took the paperwork to the DMV to handle it almost like it was a private party transaction.

I don’t believe you can register it with the out of state dealer but they should be able to provide you with all the paperwork needed. Transfer plates depend on the state I believe.