Civic suspension revamp

Let’s say the suspension on my civic is a bit weathered. (97 hx)

In the near future I would like to tear things apart and replace some components. At the same time, I would also like to throw in possibly some performance springs/struts as well as whatever else i would need.

My Q for you HONDA BOI’s is this: What else should I replace while down there. I am a complete suspension NOOB and could use some advice. I don’t want to replace unnecessary parts but I figured things like ball joints/etc would be smart to do…

A list would be fantastic… as I will most likely source out the parts on my own and take it to a reputable friend of mine to help install and align.

Thanks!

Good brands would be a +

what do you do with the car, and what do you want as far as a drop

do you daily it, plan on racing of any kind, answer these questions if you want a good answer

Good question, I neglected that.

As of right now it is a DD that gets abused.

I would still like a bit more in the realm of performance as I would love to turn this into a cheap project in the future. (auto-x and whatnot)

A 1" to 1.5" drop seems reasonable.

Ride quality doesn’t much matter to me but I want something that will last and be reliable.

cheap = agx and eibach sportlines

expensive= koni yellows and ground controls

of course the koni and gc combo is more expensive, but overall they are great quality and leave you room to modify/adjust in the future

if you want the car to be a little tail happy you could get the asr kit with itr rear sway bar

as far as ball joints i wouldn’t replace anything unless its needed, and replace with oem parts as aftermarket bushings tend to squeek over time and not last as long

If the suspension FEELS beat it’s probably ball joints and bushings.

Do you recommend a camber kit? What sort of drop am I looking at with each set-up. (i know i know I should look this shit up)