Clutch Death -- Help! Pictures included.

ok so i was driving down 178th after work and low and behold, my clutch stays on the floor!

The pictures below show where the problem is. It seems that the fork going into the bell housing is messed. How messed, i dunno…

I have never done a clutch job before and am in desperate need of help. The car is on a cement pad beside my house, and aside from being outside, is a clean place to work. I have tools jack stands, a jack, and most likely everything that will be needed. My pops tells me I am going to have to pull the motor up to pull the bellhousing off to get at this fork thing.

Please pm me if you may be able to help in any way. If you can forward me to a reputable shop that won’t charge an insane amount, I would appreciate that as well.

I really appreciate this! :oops:

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/5194/dsc01483copy7yt.th.jpg
http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/9720/dsc01479copy3mk.th.jpg
http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/429/dsc01473copy6se.th.jpg
http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/5606/dsc014829xi.th.jpg

Is the fork still firmly in its place? If so maybe your slave cylinder over extended and pooped the piston out. Or air got sucked in the line some how allowing that rod to fall out. I would recommend buying a new slave cylinder and putting it back together. bleed the clutch and see if it works. Slave’s are cheap anyways and if it works it will save you allot of time and work!! When I put my new clutch in some how air got into the system and it popped out the slave piston. I put it back in and blead the line and away it went :partyman:

Looks like your clutch fork popped out, you will have to take the transmission off. Try putting in a new slave cylinder and bleed the line just to make sure thats not the problem.

thanks for the replies guys! guess i panicked a little :slight_smile: it seems I wont have to mess with the engine at all. I now have a bit of a game plan going, so we will see what happens.