Driver School at Watkins Glen

Anybody have recent experience with this? I see a bunch of outfits offer day-long schools with on track training, but I have no experience with any of them. Like motorcycle track schools, I presume that some car schools are great and some. . . not so much.

Any recommendations?

I’ve gone there with the BMWCCA a few times for HPDEs. Very happy with their organization and the instructors I’ve had. They and NASA also offer Teen driving schools if that’s what you’re looking for.

http://www.gvc-bmwcca.org/

Thanks. Looks like a nice group, but they only offer two day schools and I can’t get away that long right now.

Anyone?

My grandfather is a instructor there I can ask him any specific details if you want.

Most schools will be 2 days (I actually think all of them might be). Go with the BMW club already posted or Trackmasters, both are awesome.

I’ve always gone with either the BMW or Porsche club events… I prefer the Porsche ones

I always thought that Trackmasters would be cool to do, it’s only 3 hours away and is a hell of a lot cheaper than flying out to Bondurant in AZ (although that would be awesome).

I would just need a track worthy car, the GP certainly is not. LOL

Trackmasters is much more expensive than a BMW or Porsche Club 2 day hosted event at the Glen, but if you can only do one day it might be your best bet since they dont have a one day option. I did a one day school with trackmasters before I knew about the other options.

This is a misconception that many people have. There is absolutely nothing wrong with tracking an automatic mid-size car. I know of a few S/C GPs that race with moderate success.

Not directed (totally) at you… Just sick and tired of people hiding behind the excuse “my car is not worthy”. Take any car, I mean ANY car that is not falling apart, spend $15 for super blue brake fluid, $100 on cheap track pads (or $200 for good track pads), and now you have a track worthy car. That is it.