Engine shut off

Hello Gents and possible ladies!

I was wondering if you guys could help out a fellow 240 owner with an incident i’m almost sure someone here experienced before.

So I was cruising on my way to the strip joint ah i mean, ahh, the variety store! yeah that’s it… and the car [91 240 hatch 5spd] shut off right i was going through the intersection [embarassing? Yes.] i thought i stalled but driving stick for a living and for fun that’s unlikely.

The engine light came on. car turns over but wouldn’t start. a push start saved that day.

another time [while driving in traffic 20-30 kmh] my rpm gauge dropped to zer0! i was already in second so i just release the clutch since i was still rolling and lets just say its a jump start without the extra hands!

last night i was driving home [30-40 kmh making a right turn] it shut off again. this time a jump start did nothing in first or second gear. it keeps turning over but wouldn’t start. taxi + tow truck = 150

last one i promise. this morning it started no problem. it’s like tha KA fairy came and save the night. help guys help…

what do i do… how can i fix this problem…
thanx in advance.

phiddy.

i was having the same problem, when i first got my beater car. This could be cause you don’t got good spark plugs,fuel filter, air filter, distrib. Basically you might need a tune up. Check how weak you sparks are and if your spark plugs are in good condition.

I had this problem even after the tune up, how ever after i got about 1000kms on the car the problem went away, it was simply cuz that car hadn’t been driven in a while so everything was jammed and plugged up.

fuel pump?

funny thing is i just got this car about two weeks ago and the guy said he had it parked up. but occationally took it around the block. [don’t know if around the block is enough driving but that sounds possible] thanx alot wasn’t thinking about that.

definetly going to look into this. sounds logical aswell. thanks m8