General PC3 Question

Hey all, I just ordered and installed my PC3 on my 2003 zx6r. Installation was a breeze and loading the map was cake, but heres my question.

I have a two brothers slip on and stock airfilter, and loaded the map from the powercommander software for this slipon. I have yet to ride the bike because its still a very cold 30 degrees but did start it up to see how it ran and this is what I have found.

It took longer to start than normal, and once it came up to temperature, I proceeded to rev the motor and found a good amount of black smoke being emitted from the exhaust.

Now I work on cars for a living, and know that this is due to the richer fuel mixture (very obvious on my turbo disi car), but i wasnt really expecting this much fuel. And I also noticed that after the black smoke came out, there was a smaller amount of smoke of a lighter color that was emitted. And you can definitly smell the extra fueling.

Is this something that is normal of a bike running an aftermarket map? I know that it will take some riding for me to see how the bike truly responded to this upgrade, but what should I look and listen for in terms of the bike not responding well? I know that lean conditions are very harmful to an engine and damage is the last thing i want to do.

I know that every bike is different and ultimately I should have a quick dyno done to the bike, but whats your experience with powercommanders pre-mapped downloads?

Thanks for any input you can give

I have no experience with PC’s but I will ask this. Is it an official map from PC? and what kind of fuel and or additive you have in your bike?

It is a map directly from dynojet, I have a slip-on and no other performance enhancing engine modifications. Running 93 octane because is more consistantly available than 91.

May be other member with more PC experience can chime in.

How old is the gas btw? you sure no additives like fuel stabilizers?