help with thermostat replace...

hey guys, ok I’ve read and figure out how to do this, doesnt seem pretty hard…just one thing stumped me today while i was just taking a look at the engine bay…

there are 3 screws holding the thermostat housing in place right…that “L-shaped” thing…two are clearly visible on the top…i’m assuming the third is on the other side…is this reachable from under the car? I really dont want to have to remove the intake and the fan since that seems to get complicated lol…'im a complete noob bytheway, i’ve always wanted to fix things myself and since my civic never breaks down, i’ve never had a change to haha…so now i’m learning…

PS. when replacing the thermostat, do i have to apply “liquid gasket” on the housing? if i dont, will this possibly cause a leak? And after i’ve installed the new thermostat and hooked everything back up, what do i do?

IE: do i open the bleeder hole and fill up the coolant/water mix until it leaks out of that hole? what is this “bleed the air out” or something? ppl keep saying it, but i dont understand how to do it…do i do this BEFORE putting the coolant back in? do i turn the engine on with the hole open and run the engine for a bit? how do i know if ti’s enough? etc etc lol…

thanks in advance…

PS i plan to drain out about 2L of coolant, just enough to clear the thermostat…i dont want to do an entire flush…so after replacing the new thermostat, there will be coolant in there…just wondering what comes next…bleeder screw…etc…

You might aswell just drain the whole thing, it won’t really make that much of a difference. Make sure you put the drain bucket under the stat housing when you go to take it off. There will still be coolant in the motor.

You can get the bottom of the 3 screws from the top, just get a 1/4" drive ratchet with either a 3" extention or a deep socket, I can’t remember which one worked.

You are required to use gasket maker/rtv silicone when you assemble. It will leak if you don’t.