Job Advice

Currently I am a project manager/ estimator for a specialty contractor and Ive been doing this for about 5 years and worked my way up in this small business. Recently some things have changed and I have started to look for something new, something with less BS, Stress, etc.

Currently I have the opportunity to interview for a company that’s out of Philadelphia PA and has some construction projects in the area for the next few years. I also have a little in since I know a guy who they hired here locally. Less work, less stress and more money.

Here is the kicker, They can offer a 3 year contract, no more but there is a possibility of more work locally down the road. The position is hourly vs my current salary (but the hrly rate is close to double what im making now) plus better benefits (phone, computer, travel expenses), they will not be opening up an office in NY and I have no desire to move to PA.

Im kind of torn on this, yes more money is nice but what happens after 3 years? Who knows where the construction industry will be and I could be screwed.

Whats everyone’s thoughts on this? I need an outside opinion.

If you hate where you work now, and can go make double the money for three years…DO IT. if in 3yrs if the new company can’t keep you in buffalo, they’ll either pay your travel expenses to work in PA all week, or you can shop for a new job again. by then you’ll have 8 yrs experience and hopefully two letters of reccomendation from the previous two employers…and money in the bank from 3yrs at a double salary

my $.02

^^^and you can give me your old job here

3 years is a long time to make connections/contacts and find other opportunities.

exactly. not to mention you are young, there is no sense wasting your time at a company you don’t enjoy working for. You’ve got nothing to lose by trying something new. That’s half the point of being young.

YOLO!

only two ways to get a better job…