laptop advice needed

so i currently have a non unibody macbook pro 15" that ive been using for about the past 4 years.

for the past 6 months ive been having issues with the screen going negative when it gets warm but if i move the screen it will go away (annoying but tolerable)

well today i go to turn it on and i get the usual apple startup screen (grey screen with the apple logo and the pinwheel) but after so long the pinwheel stops going around and it just freezes.

i tried to start it up in safe mode but still the same thing.

i then tried to reset the PRAM (control+command+p+r) but no progress

so i then tried to reset the SMC (removing the battery and power connection, holding down the power button for 5-10 seconds then reinstalling both and start the comp up)

that also yielded no results.

so after talking to iank and doing a bit of reading on the topic i have kind of an idea that it may be the logic board

now i hear that logic board replacements run upwards of $500 to start and since its out of applecare its going to be a $50 diagnostic fee at apple just to figure out what it is

so the real question is do i cut my losses and look into buying a replacement MBP with 2x the RAM and 2x the storage for like 700-800?

or do i repair mine?

Buy new one. Sell your old one on ebay for a few hundred dollars.

Check with the Apple store, they have a large recall on bum video cards I believe. Also that era suffers from hard drive and mainboard issues.

Added—
I almost forgot the hinges go bad on the unibodys fairly easily. I’d focus on the potential recall though…try to get it fixed for free then hock it and buy a replacement.

should i look into a used MBP or is that too much of a gamble?

“They don’t make em like they used to”