long time no see! going to take the plunge

So this site has gotten a bigger than it was when I started off on here, so when I say i disappeared for a bit I dont know that too many of you would even know I left haha

Anyway I’m in my first year of Medical School and its kicking my ass (in a good way) so I dont make it on here much… to the OG’s, missed you guys!

ok so heres the post point:

I’m going to actually dive into the shallow end and propose to the love of my life :slight_smile: :ham:

Since I have NO experience with this stuff I need some shopping opinions.
Being that I’m in medical school, am dirt poor, and will BE dirt poor for a while, I cant do anything too elaborate. Someday, when im not poor, i’ll get her a nice ring

I have the good fortune of my AMAZING mom telling me that she has my great grandmothers diamond avalible for me to mount.
I’m going to take her up on the offer (the girl is a sweetheart and will be thrilled that she could wear my family heirloom so thats not a big deal). Now the question is… where to go for a mount. I’ll set my ceiling at 1200 (ring band and a warrenttee and tax) but I have no idea how I can maximize my purchase power here.

I assume i have a little leeway because with the diamond quality is SO much more an issue than with the band/mount. I figured I would go with some diamonds in the band, maybe one on either side of the main diamond and some pave diamonds in the band (i think i said that correctly)

Has anyone done this? Know of reliable online retailers or a local place (rochester) to go? Mounting can be done anywhere, but I do want a waranttee and Im not sure where that would be purchased thru (the mounting company, or the band/mount retailer?)

Thanks so much in advance! Ok, back to Anatomy haha

Bobby