NA Build KA versus SR

Hey all. This particular build will be going into my 510. At first I was looking at a KA24DE but just today I found someone with an SR20DE rwd with a sloped valve cover (S14)? I stopped and thought about things for a sec and figured the Silvia guys could help me best…and yes I have already considered turbo SR but for some reason I want to stay NA even though the dollar for dollar hp and blah blah blah.

What is better to build? Here is my criteria. I am a street driver wanting to have a bit of fun but not to the extent of wanting a role in F & F 3. I want to get the most out of a street motor. I am looking to run ITB’s and most likely an AEM computer. My highest octane would be sunoco 94. My Datsun weighs around 2000 to 2100lb’s, add a roll cage it came with, roughly 75 to 100 lbs in the weight difference of the new engine bay and I have about a 2250lb car. I AM NOT looking to gut the interior. Wikipedia claims the KA at 157hp and 160tq while the VVT SR is 163hp no torque figure listed.

My first idea was a KA24DE with a crower stroker kit. I have found several donor’s around $500 area. Stroker kit around $2000. I would attempt to get whatever i could with flywheel, cams, porting etc along with the stroker of 2.65 i believe. Thoughts on this setup please. What compression? This will be torquie correct, but how risky will high rpms be if i decide to zip it along the hwy? How much should i expect to safely lower redline? Your thoughts on power expectations.

Second idea is the SR20DE i saw today. It was RWD and had a sloped valvecover around $1000. Add a stroker kit (2.2?) plus all the bolt ons and what can I expect from this setup? Please more info to help me identify this is the correct motor i am assuming.