«OFFICIAL» Watercraft / Jet Ski / PWC Thread + Boats

This is now the Watercraft / Jet Ski / PWC Thread

Original thread for context:

How bad is this? The hull looks like this:

Did it fall off the trailer and get dragged for 100 miles?

lol, it’s 20 years old.

didn’t newman repair the cracked hull on his jetski? you should ask him.

I did, he thinks it’s probably fine but I’d like other opinions as well.

I’m no expert but it looks cosmetic. Can you create a “grinding” noise on water? :slight_smile:

+1 on cosmetic, looks like it’s been beached on sand/rocks all it’s life
Best test is sit it in the water and look inside the hull for any leaks or moisture

I was thinking it was just cosmetic, but wanted to make sure since it’s all the way down to the SMC material.

New toy acquisition?

Maybe. I’ve wanted one for a while, I just don’t want to spend a lot so I’m willing to accept imperfections… as long as it’s not going to sink, lol.

Thanks guys :tup:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]32393[/ATTACH]

Tell us some more details to give a better recommendation whether u should purchase or not.

Since when do YOU accept imperfections?!

+1

This is the guy who changed his water faucet because he couldn’t get it completly cleaned to his liking lol.

The point of gelcoat is to seal the fiberglass under it. Now that so much gelcoat is worn off I’d be concerned about water absorption and the hull losing it’s integrity.

If it doesn’t feel soft and it’s a good deal I’d just swing by West Marine and pick up some gelcoat to re-coat it.

http://www.westmarine.com/west-marine--waxed-non-laminating-finish-gelcoat--P012953865

You know riding a jet ski is going to muss up your hair.

+1

That’s an aftermarket intake grate and it looks a little scuffed. Only way to do that is beaching or rocks.