Paging Boxersix: '04 sti turbo issue

I hear you are the man when it comes to rebuilding fp greens, lol.

It looks like the seal on my turbo went the other day. I am in need of a rebuild.

The car is an 04 sti btw…and after a short highway run Monday, I noticed I wasn’t seeing the normal 21-23 psi I usually do. It was more in the range of 16-19. This concerned me a bit so I shut her down briefly in the parking lot, and upon restarting the engine I noticed a substantial puff of white smoke out of the exhaust, and where the hot side meets the cold side of the turbo.

I’m somewhat new to the turbo game, so this issue is a bit over my head. I have a compression/leakdown scheduled for this weekend to ensure my engine is still stout, and it wasn’t something more serious like detonation. Right now I am limping the car to work and whatnot, keeping her out of boost, and checking the oil regularly.

If you can shoot me a pm boxersix, we’ll talk. I’d much rather have things done locally than have to send the damn thing out to the guys at forced performance.

Oh one last non related question: How is Synapse with scoobys, and in general? I’m just moving back to this area and have never dealt with these guys. I’ve always dealt with Innovative Tuning out in Buffalo.

Tell me how you really feel!

/rambling:thumbup

Subarus are always in at synapse, they know what they’re doing there. Also dont rebuild the turbo just go bigger

Word.

And yes, I thought about going bigger for a LONG minute… but I really enjoy the power curve on the fp green. It’s drive-able, not too laggy, and 330/365 on a 4wd mustang dyno is plenty fun for now!

I’m going to give Morgan at Synapse a call tomorrow.

:sHa_hehe::sHa_hehe::sHa_hehe::sHa_hehe:

FP black that ho

Are you laughing with me or at me? answer carefully, i’m a convicted E-THUG.
:frowning:

I’m going to assume at you, he owns an Evo 9… we all know, Evo > STI & STI’s conduct fire. :lol