[PICS] How much slack should the timing chain have?

Basically, at idle and momentarily at low accelerating RPMs the motor would make a sound like the chain was hitting the guide so that’s why I pulled the valve cover. It wasn’t a continuous noise, just on idle and these various instances.

Upon inspection, the top guide was perfectly mounted on there. It was not loose at all. I took the top guide off and it had some minor abrasions in the top from the chain.
The timing chain has a little bit of slack in it (granted the tensioner is operated on oil pressure). I took a screwdriver and I poked around on the chain down on the bottom tensioner and it was pretty tight. From the pics, do you think the chain should look like that?

http://members.shaw.ca/fivelitermustang/IMG_2766.JPG
http://members.shaw.ca/fivelitermustang/IMG_2770.JPG

I did not take off the front cover to physically inspect the tensioner because I am a noob and I don’t have the tools to take belts off. Hopefully, this will get rid of the momentary rattle.

Is there any other stuff I can inspect with just the top valve cover off? Maybe it would be worthwhile to put some rocker arm stoppers in there now.

As a side note,
My valve gasket cracked in half, so I need to get a new one. Who would have this and how much? What is the procedure in applying the sealer as well (I bought some stuff by Permatex “The Right Stuff”)? I don’t have a torque wrench but I am going to hand tighten the bolts in the suggested pattern in the FSM.

That’s not right. It should be tight.

Ok, Louis and me are going to agree to disagree.

There should be “some” slack. That looks very minor to me. It would depend on where you are on the rotation. If you turn the crank, that chain will tighten and loosen with the rotations.

Rocker arm stoppers won’t change anything with regards to the timing chain. That is just to stop, well, the rocker arms from jumping off.