power locks install..

hey, i want install power locks on my 240sx…is it hard? i was reading around and people say it’s pretty simple…i looked on ebay for 2 door kits n such…there were two types i found…i think “2 wire” and “3 wire”? what is the difference? i plan to install an alarm system after(at a shop…just cheaper if i install the power door locks first…i think?..)

have the shop put in the alarm with keyless…
(only costs $20 more for the unit)

This will make the conversion
ULTRA SIMPLE!!!

just add your own switches after.

if he does all the work then it doesn’t cost much since he’ll be work in on yor car any way.
extra $150-200

well an extra $150-200 is alot for 'extra" lol which is why i wanted to install the power door locks myself before gettin an alarm system installed…since i know it’s mad easy to work on my doors, they both pop off, no screws or anything…but yea does anyone know the difference between 2-wire and 5 wire actuators?

im no electronics expert but im guessing 2 wire just reverses polarity and is off in the middle while a 5 wire would be 1 ground, maybe 1 up, one auto up, one down, one auto down, like baller style cars. this is just pure speculation though, ask patrick

ahh k thanks, and last part of my question:

how do the power door lock keyless kits work? it comes with 2 actuators and 2 remotes…does the remote send a signal to each actuator and it goes off? meaning, that when i install these power door lock kits, i DO NOT wire anything into the car’s electrical system except power and ground? IF so, how will this be compatible with an alarm system installed in the future?

if it is a seperate unit, then it might not work with an alarm system designed to use factory power locks. you would have to get creative with the wiring.