Question about cylinder head

So im in the process of gathering Forged internals etc for my rebuild on my d16z6. And Im Having somebody from the board rebuild it for me. So i was bored today and took the head off. Now I didn’t Have plans To rebuild the head But I don’t know if everything Is ok on the head. I took some pics maybe it would help 2 Of the valves were sticking out of the bottom of the head a little bit. I don’t know if thats normal or not.

well since you have a cam in it is normal for the valves to be sticking out some. As far as if we can tell if it needs to be rebuilt/refreshed, that requires taking it apart to check the parts out. Whats the mileage on it? Certainly can’t hurt to have it checked if you are doing a boosted build.

unknown mileage bought motor off board I would love to rebuild it my self kinda scared though lol :frowning:

Hah, yeah, that normal, since the cam is in there still!

K thanks for the info I’m a newb when it comes to internals

As already stated it’s normal considering the cam is still installed. I would recommend not setting it down on the deck surface with the valves open like that as you could possibly damage them then.

Rebuilding the head is always a good idea on a fresh engine.

↑, X2. If your gonna rebuild the bottom why not do the top.

^ def a good idea even if not a rebuild its nice to just have it apart check everything make sure its all in spec considering u dont know the mileage and clean everything up.

[quote=Birdman;1339005]^ def a good idea even if not a rebuild its nice to just have it apart check everything make sure its all in spec considering u dont know the mileage and clean everything up.[/quote