Racing slicks and drag tire school

school me on this, I’ve got probabaly 500 1/8th mile passes under my belt, but no official 1/4 passes.

I’ve never ran slicks on the strip ect.
I heard alot of this and that over the years, dont run slicks with radials in the front only bias ply. ect

So with that said, if I run radials in the front id need at best out back a drag radial?

I went 80 in the eigth on sreet tires, so im new to all this. I figure some of the big dogs can step in. I’m looking at 10s for next year, so I need to figure tires out accordingly.

I plan on running slicks, so I’m just trying to figure out front tire seizes, and tire styles, what works for you ect

Why don’t you just from MT drag radials?? They should be more the enough for whatever your running.

I went 1.51 on a on 255 drag radials.

I’m looking for more info like this, and also to learn all about slicks, tire combos ect.

a little knowledge never hurts. thanks lz.

You should probably plan tire height vs whatever gear your running and what you plan to trap at.

It sounds like you’re in the building stage here…and if that’s the case for a track car I wouldn’t go anything less than slicks and skinnies. The skinny tire offers less rolling resistance and the ligthest weight.

Now, if you have intention to hit the streets every so often then I’d go with the drag radial…and keep the front skinny.

First off is the vehicle manual or auto. Then lets see rear gear ratio and trans setup.

watching this thread!

vehicle is an auto
2 speed powerglide
The rear for now is a 3.73, I plan on jumping up eventually tho, when I get a better dif

I’m in the buy everything I need stage for the next year.
I’ve been reading the rule book and I’m trying to pick a class that suits my budget and what i’m building.

The plan is to get an 8 second cert on the chassis, so it has potential way beyond the motor and the driver. That way as I grow as a 1/4 mile racer, I wont have to build it twice.