RPM's

i had a civic which i liked getting into the high RPM’s… now i have an S14, and i wanna do a KA-T this summer, my thing is i want to be like at 8200RPM range… im new to Nissan engines, so can i get some advice!! please and thank you!

Why do you need that RPM?

You will get that on a KA for about 0.005 seconds and kaboom.

There is no need for that RPM with a Nissan motor.

My .02 cents.

i don’t understand why people think KA’s are made of glass, i missed a couple shifts on mine that had 280,000km on it and went to at least 8,000rpm and it didn’t care.

though i don’t recommend running a stock KA at that speed on a regular basis, it’s doable with a properly built engine.

and i also agree that it’s pointless. engines that make torque don’t need rpm. honda doesn’t know what torque means so they make it rev to a billion rpms where it can actually get some useful power (and no, i’m not just pointlessly bashing honda, i drive one right now).

reason i asked, im just use to the high RPM’s i guess i should adjust…

Not all cars need to hit 9000 rpm to get power :stuck_out_tongue:

from my experience,
you can redline a 240 as much as you want on the stock motors if they were maintained properly… never really been an issue other than smell…

No…don’t do that…why adjust?

Why not make better?

Every motor will be better off with more rpm (assuming done right). If you want more RPM, build for it.

hondas need to rev high because they have very short gears

nissans have long gears so you dont need to rev high

… just… wow… :ugh:

On the KA motor, torque and horsepower drop after 5500rpms. Revving higher is for gay vtac motors which have no power from 1 through 5k rpm. If you want to rev high, you will need better cams. The down fall is the motor will lose some torque, but you will gain a few HP up top. You should probably just turbo the motor and not worry about 6.5k beyond, it will be a killer motor at the strip or the track.

its true