Stippy's 86' Trans Am

Well Ive already started on the build a few months ago, so Ill just have to catch you guys up on whats been done so far.

Day after I bought her, the kid is my little brother lol:

http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk104/Stippy18/untitled.jpg

I bought the car about 3 years ago when I was 15 for $400, I sold the 305 that came with it separetely for $200. So I had a running 1986 Firebird SE 2.8l 5 Speed on my hands. It took the better half of 2 years to switch out all of the old interior from Dark Grey/Grey to Dark Grey/Black & prepping, primering, and painting the body. The previous owner had started to turn it into a Trans Am with the Front/Rear Bumper covers he put on but he didnt have many more ground effects pieces so I had to scrounge for them.

What it looked like when I was ready to put it on the street this summer:

Now Im on the the Drivetrain of the car. My plans are pretty simple being this is my first build. I want:

V8 Swap
About 400 WHP
Mid-High 11s in 1/4 Mile
Manual to Automatic Swap

This is what I have done:

August 13th:

I bought my 400 SBC today. The plan is to drop it in the Bird’ with as close to 400 HP as I can get it and try to run high 11s / low 12s with it. I dont know how I got so lucky, but its the most sought after 400 block out there (3951509). It has the 1% Tin and 2% Nickel added to the block, AND I found out its known as a ‘cheater’ block when I looked up the number because its the only 400 casting with 2 freeze plugs instead of 3. So at a quick glance it would appear its a 350 and not a 400. Im excited to get this project underway.

Also, its a 2 bolt which is stronger than the 4 bolt 400s.

400 SBC
Engine Stand

Total: $400

October 11th: