thinking about a city/town job

well I think I have had enough of my current job and am ready to move on… I have been working in the health/gym industry for 5 years and managed a bally total fitness for almost 4 of those… great exp in the field but I think I would like to move on now…
I know the pay will not be the same but the benefits and the pension outweigh that I believe…

anyone on the board currently working a job like this?? Any suggestions where to apply and all that good stuff

any feedback is appreciated thanks

Your better off staying at your current job until the market picks up. There is NOTHING in Buffalo right unless you specialize in another trade, are IT literate, or in the medical field. You could always look into options to build your current knowledge of the health/gym industry and see if there is another area that would offer better pay/benefits.

Check the NYS civil service site for job postings. Gov’t jobs are not all that wonderfull right now. Always threats of lay offs etc… There are way too many politicians that only do things that will benefit themselves instead of thinking of the people first.

think of it this way:if you’re going to take a 10k pay cut you will lose out. Imagine if you kept you current job and invested the 10k difference every year until you retire.

I took a good 12K hit going to the state. It took about 6 years to recoup, but in the long run will be better, I’ll never get rich but its enough to do ok and have my toys. Plus hours/vaca/etc…I will say my health care was better in private industry and my profit sharing etc…

I know the pay cut would hurt but like pauly said he caught back up in his six years… and now that seems to be the better choice for him…

?I know it does take a while to get into these jobs unless you know someone… perhaps ill start asking some of the folks that go to my current job and workout… and start taking the civil service tests