Transmission question, 1st - 2nd gear.

Hey guys. My 240 has been in storage for the last month and a bit, i just bought it before it started snowing etc. and left little room to drive it, but today and the last few days its been out and about.
So, today my buddie who also owns a 240 said he wanted to take it for a spin around the block, so i agreed and we were off. He said first off that it has “no balls” or something and that it wasnt kickin like it should. Then he said that how the gears and RPM’s were weird, for example, in first gear it would barely go past 20 on the speedo, but would be reving way up at like 5000 RPM, so you basically need to switch from first to second pretty soon after launch off. I am new to manual/standard transmission cars, so im not too sure if i should be takin his advice, maybe its just like that, i dunno.

Also, once again im new to standard driving, but when im lets say in second gear approaching a stop sign, i brake, then clutch and neutral, before the car comes to a complete stop but is going slow enough, the car doesnt seem to want me to press it into first gear. Once im at a complete stop, it pops into first ok, but im new to this and was wondering if it should still be going into first gear while almost at a stop, for a faster start.

One last thing as well. In first gear lets say 4000 RPM and i wana switch to second gear, boom goes, but feel like somethings almost grinding when slipping into second, and yes, im shifting properly.

Anyways, was wondering if you guys knew what the problems could be? The engine is pretty “Old” its got alot of KM on it 308,000. But i dont think it has to do with that, more the tranny. Please dont flame me im just a newbie with a question, hopefully not a stupid one…

Here she is…