32 bit OS on a 64 bit processor.

I’m building a new rig, finally stepping into 4 years ago with a 64 bit processor. I went to UB to get myself a free copy of XP 64 bit since I’m a student, but they only offer Vista and only in 32 bit.

No thanks.

That pretty much seals the deal for me to build this thing as a hackintosh running OSX, but I’m still wondering does it matter? Are you actually losing any performance if you run a 32 bit OS on a 64 bit processor?

Looks like it wasn’t too hard to find an XP Pro x64 Corporate torrent. Sounds like corporate installations don’t require an activation? If so I’ll be dual booting XP Pro & Leopard on the new rig. :tup:

A 64 Bit OS comes in handy if you want to use more than ~3.2GB of system memory. Never used XP 64 Bit, but i’ve used Vista x64 and Windows 7 x64 and it uses all 4GB of my RAM. I never use all 4GB during normal use but it’s nice to know it’s there when I need it. Other than that, make sure your hardware is supported and has 64 bit drivers. XP x64 was notorious for poor driver support.

Cool. I’m putting 4 gigs in my new computer so there’s at least a tangible reason to use an x64 OS.

Yes, I’m very pleased with Windows 7 x64, but you should never use XP x64. Vista at least.

Fry, you should be able to get both 32-bit and 64-bit version of Windows XP Pro at UB Micro.

Vista 32 does recognize all 4 of mine. Not sure if it utilizes all of them.

Check demonoid for a 64 bit

Nope. I was just there a couple of hours ago. Vista x86 Business and Ultimate only, no XP, no x64 anything. Unless the dude I talked to didn’t know what he was saying.

So why not XP x64? Just the driver issues? With Vista generally being slower I really see no point to it. I’d jump to Windows 7 if I don’t go XP.