Anyone know the location requirements for a retail car dealer?

I’ve been getting a shitload of mixed information and was just wondering if someone knows for SURE if when filing for a retail dealers license if you need a commercial location or if you can use a residential address that can hold 4+ cars? Lots of info on just about everything else EXEPT if the location has to be commercial.

thanks

Pretty sure it has to be commercial last time I looked into it. However I am no expert. I would ask Jammer, I think he recently opened a small car lot

You need a location that is properly zoned for Automotive Retail Sales. That being said, you can do it out of your house if you want. The DMV doesn’t care, but your local muinicipality does.

hes one of the mixed answers ive gotten lol… he says he thinks it has to initially be commercial and then switch… other people say it has to be commercial period… and others say dmv stated it can be residential.

if ive got 6 cars in my driveway anyway, will they still care lol… i only plan on buying 1-2 cars at a time and selling them online.

I think it only matters if they are unregistered. Obviously, the more attention you draw, the more likeley it is you will run into problems…

Plus you have to hang the sign up on the “building” where it is visible. For some this could present a problem.

i mean, it/they will have a dealer plate on em?

Pretty much I just wanna get the ball rolling, get this license and then rent/buy a small spot and switch the location to there… Makes no sense to rent/buy a spot and then wait 3 months paying rent just to find out IF im gonna be approved or not.

Dealer plate is a red flag with the local town code enforcement… if they can see it. Don’t forget most towns either don’t allow, or only allow a certain number of, unregistered vehicles on your property.

not questioning what your saying, but a dealer couldnt drive a car to his home with a dealer plate? lol…