Crash Reports

Not sure if there is a thread like this on here already, but I figured it could be educational to all if those of us who have been down shared the experience.

Background:
I’ve been riding on and off for over 10 years. Last fall I picked up my Buell after not having ridden for a few years. I put about 400 miles on it in 3 weeks before the crash.

Story:
Towards the middle of November, I put it down during a short ride near my shop as I was warming up the engine for an oil change. As I was coming around an off camber left hand curve at about 45mph, I started sliding on some gravel that was across the road at the entrance to a gravel pit. Foolishly, I chopped the throttle which stood the bike up and sent me out onto the “shoulder” (it was about 1’ wide). I kept it upright for about 50’ before sliding into a 10’ wide rock lined drainage ditch which stopped the bike dead and sent me over the bars and tumbling through the ditch finally ending up on my back in a field adjacent to the ditch.

Surprisingly, I was able to stand up after a minute or two of laying there. I called my buddy to come pick me and the bike up, then went to the ER to get checked out. My hip was hurting pretty good, and I wasn’t sure if it was broken. A ton of x-rays later and they found no broken bones. I had minor scrapes on my right arm and right leg, some more serious ones to my waistline, and some major soft tissue trauma to my right upper thigh (handlebars?), a sprained right ankle, and of course a ton of bruising. For the first week or so, my right leg was swollen up about 1.5x the size it should have been. I could stand on it fine, but my thigh muscle was unable to lift my leg more than an inch or so off the ground.