fixing rust

today i decided that it was time to fix all my rust bubbles on my 240, went out and bought a sander, primer, fiberglass filling and the color that i needed for my car. this is my first time doing this and i wanna get it done myself…im just looking for some tips in doing this the right way and if i need to buy something else.

there are some cheese grader looking items buy one it will have a hnadle you can use it to take all of the ruff edges off the bondo

get all the rust out, and your going to have to bondo, then sand then bondo then sand…etc till you get it perfect. ho and you can buy a bondo and fibre glass mix that wont crack as easy and is easier to work with then straight bondo.

thx

could the bondo glass mix cover a hole that is about 2 inch by 2 inch or is it recommended to weld a little metal sheet there

WELD WELD WELD were you can…

please dont fill the holes with bondo
its asking for more bigger problems down the road

goodluck man

jord

if you cant get a hold of a welder then use jb weld or rivets then bondo over

Also, post the vin number of the car, incase you decide to sell it later, so that none of us end up with a car with big ass holes full of bondo.

wow bondo why even bother if your trying to bondo a 2" hole… how do you plan on filling a 2" hole with bondo… they should give it out to people buying 240’s for free upon purchase, because a 240 and body filler go hand in hand…

LMFAO

^^^^^
hahaha

yea definetly try to weld in some metal, rivets can eventually hold moisture and rust but if thats the path you have to go it’ll do. but dont just fill a 2’’ hole with bondo.

if i couldnt weld it, i would use fiber glass

go buy a flux core welder for 100 bucks… and weld it… Done and Done. it will look better in the end. and actually be done half right…

is it a corvette? is it made of fiberglass? NO therfor i would not suggest glass… unless you dont mind it breaking through in the spring.