Flat Black or Satin Black?

Hey SONers

Im new to the painting scene but have been reading a little bit lately and I was thinking about doing Flat Black or Satin Black on my hatch. The current paint on it is chipping off due to a cheap paint job that the previous owner got done, so I want to change it as a temporary paint job until I can afford a real paint job.

So I have some questions to get started…

What grid should I start off with when sanding the car down and what grid should I stop at?

What kind of brand primer should I use and how many coats of primer/paint to lay?

How long do I have to wait between each coats?

Should I use spray cans or a paint gun?

What other materials do I need to start the prep

As I said above, the paint job is just temporary so it doesnt really matter how its gonna turn out in the end but I still want a half decent job done. Any advice/tips is appreciated.

Thanks guys!

quick question, is it just the clear peeling or full peel to surface?

its a full peel to the surface

Well, for sanding im not too sure what grit is best. so another member will have to chime in.

For primer just use anything really. Primer just allows the paint to stick better. As long as you prep the surface very thoroughly your paint will look good. Time between coats can vary. Make sure you have a clean environment (no dust, crazy wind, etc.) But just wait till the paint is dry (not sitcky). Use a spray gun if you have access to it, but if not spray paint does the trick for a temp job.

goodluck

lmao …for my flat black i didnt even care …like …i flat blacked mine just ran sand paper over for one second just to rough it up(dont remeber the grit but it was fine) and sprayed down flat balck and it looks great ill show pictures

like i would recommend using primer …like mine has stuck and has made it threw winter and isnt chipping really but .like you best to use primer when i put mine on it was just gunna be temporary i didnt car …but i kinda love it lol