Oil at compressor inlet: cause for concern?

Sorry for the noob question, but I am new to turbos. I noticed a pool of oil at the inlet of the compressor and some oil in the compressor blades, is this a cause for concern? Im worried that it could be leaking out of the centre section, and Id like to catch it before I start up the car and realize there is no oil pressure. :?

Its the stock T25 on an uninstalled SR20DET. I cleaned away the oil that was there, and Im hoping some just spilled in when the engine was being pulled.

It’s common for some to come out but not a lot. Some might of got spilled. Or maybe there is a seal gone in the center section. Then that means time for a rebuild.

You haven’t even started the car yet?

Don’t worry, what that is is oil from the center section leaking into the
compressor housing because maybe the turbo was on its front for a bit
and the oil was never drained. Thats normal. You should start to worry
when your compressor is spuing oil out when the car is running and warmed up.

lol no, its not in yet. Everytime I make a post, someone says “Its not done yet??”

I finally SAW the car for the first time in months, and mark my words, it will be on the road this spring.

Anyways, thanks for the help!

I don’t know if Nissan still did this on the SR20DET (or whatever motor your turbo came off), but on my ca18et, they had this brilliant idea of routing the valve cover breather line directly into the intake tubing.

This usually ends up puddling oil in the intake, intercooler (if you installed one) and the compressor side of the turbo.

oil in the intake piping is NOT a good thing it could mean alot of things…

1=oil seal on turbo is going
2=oil pressure is too high thus blowing by the turbo oil seal…

3=check your intercooler it could be full of oil as well…

a turbo should not be leaking oil either to the exhaust side or compressor side.

adam